Mayotte Sightseeing Places

By | July 5, 2020

Mayotte is in the southeast of the africanContinent in the Mozambique Channel. Mayotte is the only one of the islands of the Comoros archipelago that voted to remain in the French overseas territory in 1976 and is therefore still part of France (although Mayotte is claimed by the Comoros).
Mayotte is formed from the southernmost islands of the Comoros archipelago and consists of two main islands: Petite-Terre and Grande-Terre and about twenty smaller islets in theworldwide most beautiful lagoons.

The main tourist attraction of the islands between Africa and Madagascar is the original, varied and unique flora and fauna. Large parts of the islands have been protected for a long time, here you can still find oases for numerous endemic animal and plant species. Especially in the 1,500 sq km lagoon, you can only see tropical sea creatures occurring here. Encounters with dolphins and turtles (especially the rare green turtle and hawksbill turtle) are particularly impressive. Sometimes from July to October you can also see mammals such as dugong and mute whale.

The residents of Mayotte are free to choose which legal form to apply to them. It is possible to orient yourself on the generally applicable French law, which also applies in France. This is transferred to all situations in life. Notaries, administration, courts, etc. abide by these laws.

In addition, the so-called statute personel can be applied. This is a special form that cannot be applied to European law. This status can only be obtained if you are an Islamic resident of Mayotte, immigrants from the Comoros or from northwest Madagascar.

According to ABBREVIATIONFINDER.ORG, Islam is widespread in Mayotte. So there are many Koran schools and Islamic Kadis, which take over the case law in the statut personel.

The role of women in Mahoric society is quite strong. They are the homeowners and so the men have to move to the women after the marriage. Even in the case of a divorce, it is the men who have to leave the house. The house always remains in the possession of the women. Furthermore, the man has to build a house for the daughters or sisters, or to add one floor to an existing house so that the woman can live there. The houses and apartments pass from mother to daughter in the form of an inheritance.

Area: 374 km²

Population: 209,530 (July 2011, CIA). 64.7% of the population was born in Mayotte, 3.9% French (either from the mother country France or overseas areas outside of Mayotte), 28.1% immigrants from the Comoros, 2.8% immigrants from Madagascar and 0.5% from others Countries (2002 census).

Population density: 560 people per square kilometer

Population growth: 1.533% per year (2011, CIA)

Capital: Mamoudzou (53,000 residents, 2007)

Highest point: Benara, 660 m

Lowest point: Indian Ocean, 0 m

Form of government: Mayotte has been French since 1841. Mayotte is represented in the French National Assembly with a member and in the French Senate with a senator. Since July 2001, Mayotte has been a collectivité départementale and thus has a comparable legal status to the French overseas departments, but unlike them, it is not part of the European Union. The population of Mayotte voted in 1974 and 1976 as the only island in the Comorian archipelago to remain with France and renounced independence. The Comoros claim Mayotte.

On March 29, 2009, 95.2% of the population voted in a referendum to make Mayotte the 101st department in France. The new status should come into force in 2011.

Head of government: President of the General Council Daniel Zaidani, since April 3, 2011

Head of state: French President François Hollande, since May 15, 2012, represented by Prefect Jaques Witkowski (since February 18, 2013)

Language: French is the official language of Mayotte and is spoken by 35% of the population. Mahogany (a Swahili dialect) is common.

Religion: Muslims 97%, Christians (mostly Catholics) 3%

Local time: CET + 2 h
On Mayotte there is no change between summer and winter time.
The time difference to Central Europe is +2 h in winter and +1 h in summer.

International dialing code: +262

Internet ID

Mains voltage: 220 V, 50 Hz


Mayotte is located in the Indian Ocean north of the Mozambique Strait between Madagascar and northern Mozambique. Geographically, Mayotte belongs to the Comoros archipelago.

The Mayotte archipelago, administered by France, is made up of the eponymous main island Mayotte and the two secondary islands Île Pamanzi and Ile M’Zamboro. Together, the island area is 374 sq km. The islands are surrounded by coral reefs that provide sheltered berths for ships and a habitat for fish.

The highest point of Mayotte at 660 m is Mont Benara on the main island.

The capital Mamoudzou is also on the main island, the international airport is at Dzaoudzi, the capital of Mayotte until 1977 on the Île Pamanzi.

The 39 km long and 22 km wide main island is geologically the oldest in the archipelago. Due to the volcanic origin, the soil in some regions is relatively rich in minerals and fertile.

Money in Mayotte

Currency: The euro has been the official currency for the French overseas region of Réunion since January 1, 1999. 1 euro corresponds to 100 cents.

Currency abbreviations: €, EUR

banknotes are available in the values ​​5, 10, 20, 150, 100, 200 and 500 euros, coins in the nominal amounts 1 and 2 euros, as well as 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 and 50 cents.

Currency exchange: Banque Française Commerciale Océan India in Mamoudzou and Dzaoudzi exchange money.

Credit Cards: Better restaurants, most hotels, travel agencies, and car rental companies accept American Express, Visa, Mastercard, and Diners Club credit cards.

ATMs: there are on Mayotte.